Small jug and vase with indentation

Today was a productive day in the studio. I made a vase I’m fairly pleased with, and a jug that has potential. I experimented with throwing 3-3.5kg of clay, but that wasn’t very successful.

Small jug

This jug was thrown off the hump. I managed to belly out the body and collar in the next without too much trouble, though the neck became quite delicate as I got towards the end. I made the spout with 2 fingers on my left hand supporting the rim, and 1 wet finger on my right stroking against the inside. I probably overdid this and made a small nick on the spout that I’ll clean up later. I pulled a handle which I’ll attach tomorrow.

Vase with indentation

The vase is probably best piece I threw today. I managed to collar in the neck quite narrow and was fairly pleased with the proportions overall. I probably ought to have made the indentation before I collared in the neck, but I did it after I’d cut the vase off. I’m a bit worried that there might have been a puddle inside, so we’ll see if this survives firing.

Other observations from today

I tried throwing heavier weights (~3kg) today. The first attempt was quite successful, and I had made a large bowl around 30cm across. Alas then I overworked the clay and managed to make a thin point when I was pulling the wall, so the rim collapsed and I had to trash the whole thing.

Second attempt was better, but the rim collapsed. I salvaged a bottle out of the lump, but the bottom is really thick and I’ll be surprised if I bother to fire this one. Will use for trimming practice and see what I can do with it.

I put 4 indentations into this vase after I’d wired it off. I used 2 wet thumbs on opposite sides of the piece and stroked in until I had nice indentations. The intent, as with the vase with the single indentation, will be to put a dribble of some contrasting glaze into the indentation – maybe a light background and a blue splash in the dimple. We’ll see.

2017-Apr-09 - 10

Another issue today, when throwing larger weights, was that I wound up pushing too hard so the clay went irrecoverably off centre (I think the wheelhead was a little wet too). I might have used too much water, too, I think the clay got a bit soft.

Throwing off the hump was good fun, and seemed to work OK. Bizarrely, I had an easier time centring the top of the hump than I did centring a lump of clay directly on the wheelhead.

Not shown in these pictures, I threw a small bowl and a little vase from the hump. In both cases I screwed up wiring off by not being decisive enough and managed to leave an irregular base. The vase (visible in the background of the jug pics) has quite a pleasing form with a tall base and wide rim. I’m worried it’s too thin and wet and will collapse as it dries.

Plan is to go back tomorrow and trim, attach handles etc.

One thought on “Small jug and vase with indentation

  1. Pingback: Lots of glazing | Some Clay Notes

Leave a Reply

